This thread will either be a great success or a complete failure.

To start off I will tell you a little of my history. I was born and brought up in the slums of Moss Side which is a suburb of Manchester in the UK. That was in 1947, which will tell you my age. I left Manchester Grammar School in 1963 and served my apprenticeship as a motor mechanic at one of our local car dealerships. I didn’t like wrenching for a living so went back to Uni. I got a degree in Metallurgy, which I thought was the bee’s knees until I found that I could earn a lot more money by doing other things. (Some legal, others borderline)

In 1980 the UK was going through what I knew to be a mini depression and the factory that I was managing at the time was on the verge of closure,so I decided that a change of country was in order. I had two young children (a son 10 and a daughter 7) and I didn’t see any future for them in the UK or to that matter for myself.

After applying for positions in different countries (Canada, South Africa, USA & Australia) I decided Australia was the go. It was the degree that did it, even though I have never had a job that gave me the opportunity to use said degree. Other things always came along. I have managed a plastic extrusion factory, managed a paper conversion factory, managed a strip club and owned a Hotel / Motel to name but a few. I have never been very tolerant with people that say “I can’t find a job” there is always work out there, just keep looking never give up. You will find it in the end.

The reason I live where I live are numerous and varied.