[This grew far longer than I'd hoped for, but I tend to over-think things in an attempt to cover all bases. What can I say, I'm a Business Analyst (among other things)--FJ]

Exclusive Avatars and Custom Titles

Disclaimer(s): If you've contributed an at any time since the site's creation, you knew (at least I hope you knew) that it was going into the pool of avatars, that anyone could use it, and you basically gave up control over it. That said, the point here is to avoid stepping on any toes. This should be a fun little perk to personalize your presence on the forum and support it at the same time. This is not a limited time offer. No need to rush. You will still be able to contribute new avatars to the pool for everyone to use via the same avatar thread in the Help forum. This is completely optional. Membership will remain free. This of this as an ongoing, online telethon of sorts to beef up the operations fund.

A Little Background

Out of our more than 5700 members, only around 1100 are using avatars at all. Out of those about 930 are using avatars that will remain in the pool. Of the remaining, around 120 are using avatars that we would deem "in conflict"--avatars that were contributed by members primarily for their own use, but are also being used by at least one other member [This is the part that keeps me up at night... okay, not really, but still--FJ]. The 20 or so listed below are using avatars they contributed that aren't being used by anyone else. Don't try and do the math, these numbers are just estimated based on a query from the database.

The Lucky 7

"They're really more what you'd call guidelines." -Captain Barbossa

Rule #1: The vast majority of the avatars are going to remain in the pool (flags, gas tanks, Soren's MegaCoolStuff and BikerCrosses, etc.). In fact, "remain in the pool" is the default solution to any issues or conflicts. If at all possible, best policy is to just find a new avatar.