Next Thread
Print Thread
My lights won't work, stuck on the path to why
#552329 08/14/2014 9:39 PM
Complete Newb
OP Offline
Complete Newb
Hey folks,
I'm new to these forums so I'm sorry if I'm posting in the wrong forum, which I probably am. This is also my first Triumph bike! Anyway, I need some help. And before I start I just want to mention that I know damn near nothing about electricity and electrical circuts. So any time I run into an electric-related problem I panic. Which I am doing now.

I bought my bike a little over 2 months ago. It came with an auxilary lamp kit similar to this one and that's where my problem starts. The lamps worked fine up until 2 weeks ago when one lamp crapped out followed by the other a day or two later. I removed the bulbs and sure enough they were both blown. I replaced the bulbs, flipped the switch and got... No light. Dammit. I checked the bulbs again; the filaments are intact. Checked the switch; the switch seems to be functioning correctly. I checked the fuse box; all fuses are intact. I notice a clicking sound coming from underneath the tank every time I flip the lamp switch, so I go investigate.

Underneath the tank I find that a 30 amp relay is the source of the clicking. Correct me if I'm wrong but I think a relay works like a current-powered switch. When current is applied, the relay trips and activates another circuit. Right? If that's correct, than this relay seems to be working since I can hear it click over when I flip my lamp switch. I remove the relay and crack it open anyway and everything inside appears to be fine. I'm assuming the circuit should go something like this - flip switch -> trip relay -> power to lights. But no juice is getting to those lights.

So now I'm stuck and confused. The bulbs are okay, the switch on the lamp is okay, the fuses are all okay and the relay appears to be okay... So where do I look next?

Re: My lights won't work, stuck on the path to why
PatMcTookis #552330 08/14/2014 10:16 PM