Steve McQueen inspired
by Feral, November 28
GaRally22
GaRally22
by chy, September 18
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
My dilemma – Request Advice (Tire Puncture)
#163838 05/21/2007 4:42 PM
pipedr Offline OP
Learned Hand
OP Offline
Learned Hand
Background – I'm a bit of a stickler regarding tires. Last November, I picked up a nail in the rear tire. I have been riding since 1972 and that was the first puncture I ever experienced. The tire was near the end of its usable life span and had approximately 1 – 2000 mi. of remaining tread. Weighing the cost of repairing the tire opposed to replacing – I opted to replace the tire and skip a double hit on the labor fee. Since that time, I have ridden approximately 1500 miles on the new tire. The tire is a tubeless METZLER.

On Saturday, I spent considerable time performing routine maintenance and cleaning on the bike in anticipation of some riding on Sunday. After completion, I rolled the bike into the garage and was in the process of putting the jack , tools, and cleaning agents away and noticed a elongated 'mark' on the rear tire. Reaching down to touch it, I immediately became aware the 'mark' was a nail.

The nail remains in place. The tire remains inflated. There is no sign of pressure loss at this point.

The questions (since I'm virtually inexperienced with tire failure and repair)

1. What is the preferred means of repair of a nail puncture (i.e., plug, patch, tube, etc)
2. Will the repair be 'permanent' and the tire safe
3. Do I pull the nail now (perhaps finding the nail is NOT through the tire, but, just into the rubber (wishful thinking)
4. Do I leave the nail in place and risk damage to the belting while riding to the repair shop.
5. Will I have to replace a virtually new tire to be confident about safety.

2004 Triumph Speedmaster (J Lo) 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner (Adele)
Re: My dilemma – Request Advice (Tire Puncture)
pipedr #163839 05/21/2007 4:52 PM
Fe Butt
Fe Butt